bein aimy

lifestyle guru-wannabe, a fierce woman who is after her dreams – living it out, who loves to travel, basking a kiss of heaven, self-made, multi-tasker, loves RDJ (who doesn't?) and ultimately a firm believer of the Sought-After!

I kissed happiness

on November 14, 2012

I am down for a week with – movies! I am by character a sucker of “movie lines”. It has been in safe keeping since time in memorial. And since I was gladly introduced with Movies, I am for certain reasons knew and memorize some sickly-sweet lines (of which I will share! Oh yeah, talk about sheer fondness!) I will insert (in as much as you like, I will!) how did each movies fly (that’s just according to me, feels like I’m doing another assignment but don’t get it from me though, the best review is always based on YOU.)
On an eve like no other, I was jaded doing nothing. I mean I love doing nothing but every nothing-ness has an apparent clause of meaning and this time it hit rock bottom that suddenly sent an impulse to try out the MOVIES. So googled some films which I haven’t seen and thought to end my day scribbling some lines. And here’s one of the many movies that made my oh-so-bland-nights! I was half teasing myself all the way through it, challenging to hold back tears and play unaffected but soon defeated by such tender emotions flooding in (in short, I was again floored! Oh good heavens!) 😉

No, I am not writing about movie reviews (because apparently I am no good at – I will however point out the best bits of the film!) grab some popcorn, will ya? (I happen to like popcorn with M&M’s chocolate! Weird but a must try!) thus, this entry is largely about what makes me happy!

Only you

This film is kinda vintage, year? 1994. But I couldn’t bypass it. Why? Robert. Downey. Jr. Well, I will always find his wit very alluring! (even before Iron Man and Ally Mcbeal, yeah I know he deserves better – a single post wholly devoted to him!) And Marisa Tomei! How could I miss it by chance, NO WAY! If you hate romantic comedies, skip this (I mean destiny thing? Yeah, read the next if you may).

OVERVIEW: Only You according to Mark Deming (n.d.) is “A woman throws caution to the wind in the pursuit of the man of her dreams — whom she’s never met — in this romantic comedy. Eleven-year-old Faith and her cousin Kate are playing with a Ouiji Board when Faith asks who she will marry — the magic oracle answers “DAMON BRADLEY,” and Faith is convinced that she will one day meet this ideal love. Fifteen years later, Faith (Marisa Tomei) has yet to meet her perfect man and has settled for Dwayne (John Benjamin Hickey), a sweet but boring foot doctor whom she’s engaged to marry, with Kate (Bonnie Hunt) helping her plan the festivities. The day before the ceremony, Faith gets a call from one of the groom’s friends, who won’t be able to attend because he’s travelling to Italy instead — and his name is Damon Bradley. Convinced that fate is trying to tell her something, Faith hops on the next flight to Venice, where she searches for the elusive Damon, and along the way meets the charming Peter Wright (Robert Downey, Jr.).” (I truly am making an assignment with full Harvard Referencing! Huh!)

In hindsight, I firmly believe that everything happens FOR you, not to you. That being said, every circumstance that led you into another is and therefore will tap you to your destiny. But destiny is still a matter of choice. In the film, Faith still has to choose between the real Damon and RDJ. The real Damon that she’s been waiting for her entire life (I mean calling the wedding off is huge enough, right?) and RDJ (who purposely name himself Damon Bradley just so he can keep close to the woman who stole his heart at first glance – he lied to keep her not only once but twice!) and since then have been so busy knocking her feet off! (add witty lines and bickering!)

RDJ: I can’t believe you’re gonna let a few little letters of the alphabet keep us apart. It is a detail! Just – look, just call me Damon, okay? It’ll be like a nickname.

Don’t let the love of your life slip through your fingers in an Italian airport or are you willing to take the risk all for the sake of love… it’s your destiny, make it happen!

Next picture? Life or something like it, A thousand words, The magic of belle isle

2 responses to “I kissed happiness

  1. lorelie says:

    same here hahahaha! all time favorite.

Leave a Reply

