bein aimy

lifestyle guru-wannabe, a fierce woman who is after her dreams – living it out, who loves to travel, basking a kiss of heaven, self-made, multi-tasker, loves RDJ (who doesn't?) and ultimately a firm believer of the Sought-After!

To the three men I had less than three…

on February 10, 2013

As V-day is looming and seems it is in no way possible stoppable (to those single and are hoping to have a special someone) and to those who are with love (with other half, families and friends) here’s an epic 3 in 1 (just like coffee) short stories (hope to) exceed the level of epic-ness!

1: The road less travelled

road

One of Robert Frost’s infamous poem! Not really, once upon a time, ladidi, ladada… serious now. I have had a great encounter with the road itself. It was in absolute surrender under love’s mighty spell. I thought answering love on a different tune would stop but love deemed songs that are pregnant with meaning (I mean, beyond friendship). Let’s define why I coined the first as such; I call it the road less travelled because we opted to choose the other road. As Robert Frost’s say:

“I shall be telling this with a sigh

Somewhere ages and ages hence:

Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,

I took the one less traveled by,

And that has made all the difference.”

No, the only difference NOW is that I don’t (won’t) sigh over something that gave me the reason to smile about. When I was a kiddo, I often think that love is letting go – if it’s breaking you that is. I further thought, it is much easier to give up for once than holding on for good. I have always vowed to make the other person happy – however the price maybe. I am ever willing to pay the said price – even my life. I said NO for seven times when he proposed. Why? Dreams. Happiness. Beliefs. So I chose to be a friend – the kind that sticks ‘til the end type. Happiness for me is sleeping comfortably with peace in my heart. We took the other road, went separately and leaving no stone unturned.

2: Letters to Juliet

letter

The second’s kind of interesting – really. All are on a lookout for “ONE TRUE LOVE”, tell me who doesn’t? Fresh from a heart break, a jumped (head on) to another relationship (yeah, you bet! Call me crazy! Who’s not crazy when love appears right in front of you? NOW tell me!). Well, I gave credit to the man who DID IT WELL. Letters, flowers, dinners, movie dates, surprises (like when he wasn’t even invited and then – boom! There he was with flowers and all!). In short, I was smothered with much love. But love has its own call – the one that creeps in when you least expect and must be answered soonest. From an excerpt of the movie Letters to Juliet:

Dear Claire,

“What” and “If” are two words as non-threatening as words can be. But put them together side-by-side and they have the power to haunt you for the rest of your life: What if? What if? What if? I don’t know how your story ended but if what you felt then was true love, then it’s never too late. If it was true then, why wouldn’t it be true now? You need only the courage to follow your heart. I don’t know what a love like Juliet’s feels like – love to leave loved ones for, love to cross oceans for but I’d like to believe if I ever were to feel it, that I will have the courage to seize it. And, Claire, if you didn’t, I hope one day that you will.

All my love,

Juliet

One day after more than a decade, he answered the long time call – he went back to the flock. To his ONE TRUE LOVE, this time he knows exactly what LOVE is. Bitter-sweet? No. I gave up this time because; I love the One up there more than my life! Knowing that I led the man back to Him is the greatest expression of love.

3: Better (NOT TO BE) Together

slippers

Third’s? Like no other. I had a really thing with cycle (it’s like my relationship with the latter is much stronger than my formers!). We were great friends! Not to make mention the connection (beach, reading, lighthouses, travel, food) – but that’s it. I choose period, no commas. Why? Because in reality, words can’t replace holding the other’s hand – I was thousand miles away from him. And connection remains memories, just a record of smiles and laughter. This time, I did not give up – that’s off the record (even when Altar date was made!). But distance is such a hard game to play, added time difference (double whammy? Oh, lemons!). It was not meant to be. From Jack Johnson’s song – Better Together:

Love is the answer,
At least for most of the questions in my heart
Like why are we here? And where do we go?
And how come it’s so hard?
It’s not always easy and
Sometimes life can be deceiving
I’ll tell you one thing, it’s always better when we’re together

He is happily married now. We all are happy. I can’t blame love. Not with the three. Had the best time ever! I have fought, learned, known, conquered, and chased WHO I AM.  And all because my heart beats again…

P.S. I’ll post a letter on V-day!

Leave a Reply

